Top approaches used by IT helpdesks

Linkedin pinterest

The world today comprises millions of products and services but still there are more service based companies than the product based ones. Around eighty percent of companies of the world are service based. This means that customers have no dearth of choice here and the companies have to pull their socks and provide the top notch services to retain the customers and maintain a loyal customer base. To achieve this goal companies all around the world use different technologies, frameworks, and standards to maintain the quality of their services. So what are the common approaches or frameworks that most of the service based companies vouch for? 

Here is a list of most valuable approaches that help companies around the world to maintain the standards of their IT helpdesk services


ITIL is a set of instructions and standards that helps the IT service management to be more effective by standardizing the set of steps and procedures involved in providing services to the customer. The ITIL fundamentals were published in 2011 and an updated version came into effect in January 2018. The same year the ITIL practitioner program was also introduced. ITIL is widely accepted. Mostly companies with a CMMI level 3 or above train their employees to pass the ITIL exam. The ITIL framework is based upon the lifecycle of the services and consists of five life cycles stages. These stages are 

  • Service strategy
  • Service design
  • Service transition
  • Service operation
  • Service improvement

The last stage of the ITIL is a continuous process and must be visited regularly to incorporate changes and updates. 

HDI support center standard

The HDI support standard is an amalgamation of different frameworks and standards widely accepted by the IT helpdesk services providing companies all over the world. Particularly, the HDI support standard is very effective for the North American help desk services and is implemented by the HDI chapters pertinent to the regional helpdesks. The HDI support is yet to make a mark globally but this does not mean that it lacks in any part.

Knowledge-centered service

Knowledge-centered service was formerly known as knowledge-centered support is very effective for the creation and maintenance of learning modules and knowledge-based platforms. This is unlike any older techniques such as knowledge engineering. Knowledge-centered service is very essential for the daily operations of the knowledge-based platforms. It is effective in creating knowledge as a by-product of problem-solving. KCS is a very practical and successful approach to knowledge management. Knowledge management is a tricky area and KCS simplifies the issues presented by the knowledge helpdesks. 

Microsoft operations framework

Microsoft operations framework is more than a decade old. Released in 2008 Microsoft operations framework was refreshed in 2011. It a free framework that explains every lifecycle in the IT management process. It thus standardizes the whole process and blends seamlessly with the businesses. Much like ITIL Microsoft operations framework is accepted globally. Today MOF can be paired with cloud adoption. 

ISO 9000

ISO 9000 is a quality management system that is designed to ensure the services provided by a company is able to achieve customer satisfaction all the while complying with the regulatory requirements issued by various national and international regulatory bodies. The main goal of ISO 900 is to continually improve the quality of the services being provided to the customers. It acts as a guidance tool and makes sure that the companies do not contravene any regulations set for the specified product or service. There is also an advanced version of this approach which is known as ISO 20000.